Belgium, France and Switzerland: One Crazy Day

This post is going to be a bit of a mash up of things (I am behind by a few cities!)

I woke up in Brussels, spent the afternoon in Paris and ended my day in Geneva. Being able to easily visit three countries in one day is unheard coming from Canada, but here in Europe, it was just another day on the trains!

I woke up at the crack of dawn in Brussels after a pretty wild night out with an Australian, an American and a Brit. These three lovely gentlemen and I met at the hostel bar and decided to go out for a nice meal and see where the night would take us. Well, I had some garlic shrimp, they had huge steaks and then we ended up at the bar which held the Guinness World Record for “most beer offered in one establishment”for having 2,400 beers available. The menu was honestly the length of a novel. Insane. We spent the night tasting different beers from all over the world and losing out voices while singing along to the house band. “Hey, Jude” was when I really let loose. 


          

Alright, back to the craziest day of my life. So, as I said, I woke up in Brussels and headed to the train station for a train to Paris at 7:36am. Fun.
After a very short journey and a 1.5 litre bottle of water, I arrived in Paris! It was already 31 degrees and it was only 9 am. Oh boy.


I figured out the metro and headed to the Eiffel Tower, like any good tourist would!
I ate lunch under the tower and basked in the sun for a few hours. Truth being told, I could have attempted to see more sights with my time but I opted not to for a few reasons.
– 30 lb backpack + 31 degree heat + sweaty metro (no, thank you.)
– I now have an excuse to go back to Paris, as if I really needed one, but with so much of the city left to see, I am sure I will make an extended visit someday.
– Napping under the Eiffel Tower is nice. 

      


Eventually I headed to Paris Lyon train station and checked out a few things along the way, but for the most part I was ready to continue onto Geneva!

 Arriving in Geneva was a whirlwind, by the time I got to my hostel it was already 10 pm, but still 33 degrees, somehow. Immediately I was hit with the prices in Switzerland, the cheapest dinner I could find was a margarita pizza for 18 Swiss Francs, which is about $22 Canadian. Anyways, I will be writing up an entire post about Geneva, the city I was most excited for, so stay tuned for that one in a few days!

                                                                 

Now backtracking a few days, before this three country whirlwind adventure, I want to include my time in Ghent, Belgium.
Ghent is one of the nicest cities I have been to yet, it has small town charm, with all the great things of a modern city. There are castles lining the main streets, but there is still a wonderful transit system equipped with trams running all over the place! 

                       As you can probably tell, one day was sunny and the other a bit grey but nonetheless I spent two wonderful days here and for the most part all I did was walk around, read my book and visit breweries. It was a nice change from my usual hectic schedule in the major cities like Berlin and Amsterdam. I was able to do my laundry and watch an episode of The Bachelorette, both very essential.
I met some really great people at my hostel, including a guy from Newcastle who had grown up in Brighton so we spent a whole night talking about that and about British politics. It was great. He also introduced me to to this Belgian beer.


While in Ghent I discovered the best beer I have ever had at a local brewery called Gruut. They brew their beers without hops and instead opt for a spice blend to brew the beer. It was the smoothest and most refreshing beer I have ever had. Unfortunately, they don’t really export it, so I am considering moving to Ghent.

Also, I discovered that the Belgian waffle was invented in Ghent! I had one of the originals and it was incredible! They suggest lemon and icing sugar, so that’s what I had – ugh, so good.

After that I headed to Brussels, which was covered at the beginning of this post! I cannot believe it is already June 6th – slow down time!

Ghent 10/10
Brussels 9/10 (This is only a nine because I got blisters here.)
Paris 10/10
Geneva 10/10

Kilometers walked: 166 km
Kilometers train-ed: 4,059 km

Leave a comment